West Gallery Music Association
Home   About Us   What's New   Calendar   Quires   Articles   Publications   Resources   Pictures   Discussion Forum   Links

The Worth Carols (Second Edition 2018)

This book contains the words and music for ten carols. These were mainly composed by the Corben brothers of Gallows Gore in the Parish of Worth Matravers, Dorset. The original edition was published in 1979 in arrangements by Sybil Sheppard, LRAM, ATCL who was a music teacher from Langton Matravers. The last two Carols, noted as sung in Worth and Langton Matravers were both written by Samuel Wakely. The preface to the second edition was written by Rollo Woods. The ten carols are:

1. Behold what news we bring

2. Awake! Rejoice

3. The Glorious Armies of the Skies

4. Lift up your hearts

5. Blest are the Sons of Peace

6. Oh, All ye people

7. Hark! Hark! What echoes

8. While shepherds watched

9. See Seraphic Throngs descending

10. Wrapt in the silence of the night

The Worth Carols is available from: Robin Plowman, 14 Richmond Road, Swanage, Dorset BH19 2PZ. email

Price £7, including p&p. (Cheques payable to "Purbeck Village Quire", please).

The Purbeck Village Quire is a registered charity, and all profits from the sale of the book will be used to encourage music making by young people in Dorset.


Home page   |   Books Index   |   Literary References   |   Resources Index   |   West Gallery Music in Art